Collaborating Scholars

York University Faculty associated with the Tubman Institute:

Paul E. Lovejoy
Professor, Department of History
plovejoy@yorku.ca

Caitlin Fisher
Canada Research Chair in Digital Culture and Director of the Augmented Reality Lab, Faculty of Fine Arts
caitlin@yorku.ca

Amin Alhassan
Assistant Professor, Division of Social Science and Department of Communication and Culture
amalhass@yorku.ca

Modesto Mawulolo Amegago
Assistant Professor, Department of Dance
amegago@yahoo.com

Marcia Annisette
Associate Professor of Accounting, Schulich School of Business
mannisette@schulich.yorku.ca

Meley Mulugetta Bezzabeh
Contract Faculty, Department of History
meleym@yorku.ca

Karen Burke
Professor, Department of Music
burkek@yorku.ca

José C. Curto
Associate Professor, Department of History
jccurto@yorku.ca

Andrea Davis
Associate Professor, Division of Humanities
aadavis@yorku.ca

Ratiba Hadj-Moussa
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology
rhm@yorku.ca

Jane Theresa Holmes
Assistant Professor, Department of Anthropology
jth@yorku.ca

Pablo Idahosa
Associate Professor, Division of Social Science
pidahosa@yorku.ca

Christopher Innes
Canada Research Chair
cinnes@yorku.ca

Michele Johnson
Associate Professor, Department of History
johnsonm@yorku.ca

Joseph Mensah
Associate Professor, Department of Geography, Atkinson Faculty of Liberal & Professional Studies
jmensah@yorku.ca

Radhika Mongia
Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology
rmongia@yorku.ca

Esteve Morera
Associate Professor, Departments of Philosophy and Political Science
morera@yorku.ca

Obiora Chinedu Okafor
Assistant Professor, Osgoode Hall Law School
ookafor@osgoode.yorku.ca

Modupe Olaogun
Associate Professor, Department of English, Master, Stong College
olaogun@yorku.ca

Danielle Robinson
Assistant Professor, Department of Dance
drobin@yorku.ca

Leslie Sanders
Professor, School of Arts & Letters and Writing Programmes, Atkinson College
leslie@yorku.ca

Richard Saunders
Professor, Department of Political Science
rsaunder@yorku.ca

Robert Simms
Assistant Professor, Department of Music
robsimms@yorku.ca

Karolyn Smardz Frost
Senior Research Fellow, African Canadian History, Tubman Institute
smardz@rogers.com

Patrick Taylor
Professor and Chair, Division of Humanities
taylorp@yorku.ca

David V. Trotman
Associate Professor, Department of History & Division of Humanities
dtrotman@yorku.ca

Daniel Yon
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
dyon@edu.yorku.ca

Anne Bunting
Associate Professor, Graduate Program Director, Socio-Legal Studies
abunting@yorku.ca

Tubman Associates at other Canadian universities:

Gwyn Campbell
Canada Reseach Chair in Indian Ocean World History, McGill University
gwyn.campbell@mcgill.ca

Juanita De Barros
Associate Professor, Department of History, McMaster University
debarr@mcmaster.ca

Audra Diptee
Associate Professor, Department of History, Carleton University
audra_diptee@carleton.ca

David Divine
James R. Johnston Chair in Black Canadian Studies, Dalhousie University

Rhoda Howard-Hassmann
Canada Research Chair in International Human Rights, Wilfred Laurier University
hassmann@wlu.ca

Laurie Jacklin
Adjunct Professor, Ryerson University
laurie.jacklin@ryerson.ca
laurie.jacklin@gmail.com

Bogumil Jewsiewicki
Titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en histoire comparée de la Mémoire, CELAT, Centre Interuniversitaire, Département d’Histoire, Université Laval
bogumil.koss@hst.ulaval.ca

Martin A. Klein
Emeritus Professor, Department of History, University of Toronto
martin.klein@utoronto.ca

Femi J. Kolapo
Assistant Professor, Department of History, Guelph University
kolapof@uoguelph.ca

Behnaz Mirzai
Assistant Professor, Department of History, Brock University
bmirzai@brocku.ca

Olatunji Ojo
Department of History, Brock University
oojo@brocku.ca

Francine Saillant
CÉLAT, Département d’anthropologie, Université Laval
francine.saillant@ant.ulaval.ca

Renée Soulodre-La France
Associate Professor, King’s College, University of Western Ontario
rsoulodr@uwo.ca

International Associates of the Tubman Institute:

Joseph Adandé
Université Nationale du Bénin (Bénin)
jadande@intnet.bj

Kwabena Akurang-Parry
Shippensburg University (USA)
kaparr@ship.edu

Edward Alpers
University of California, Los Angeles (USA)
alpers@history.ucla.edu

Boubacar Barry
Université Cheikh Anta Diop (Senegal)
b55barry@yahoo.fr

Hilary McD. Beckles
University of the West Indies (Barbados)
hbeckles@uwichill.edu.bb

Carolyn Anderson Brown
Rutgers University (USA)
cbrown@panix.com

Rina Cáceres Gómez
Universidad de Costa Rica (Costa Rica)
rinacaceresg@yahoo.com

Mariana P. Candido
Princeton University (USA)
mcandido@princeton.edu

Alberto da Costa e Silva
Academia do Brasil (Brazil)
acostaesilva@uol.com.br

Gary Craig
Wilberforce Institute for the study of Slavery and Emancipation, University of Hull (UK)
g.craig@hull.ac.uk

Christopher DeCorse
Syracuse University (USA)
crdecors@maxwell.syr.edu

Howard Dodson
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (USA)
hdodson@nypl.org

David Eltis
Emory University (USA)
deltis@emory.edu

Muhammad Ennaji
Universite Muhammad V and Fondacion Tres Culturas (Morocco and Spain)
mohammedennaji@yahoo.fr

Darío A. Euraque
Instituto Nacional de Antropología e Historia (Honduras)
Dario.Euraque@trincoll.edu

Toyin Falola
University of Texas (USA)
toyin.falola@mail.utexas.edu

Manolo Florentino
Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)
manolo_florentin@uol.com.br

Nicoué Lodjou Gayibor
Université Nationale du Bénin (Togo)
ngayibor@tg.refer.org

Michael Gomez
New York University (USA)
michael.gomez@nyu.edu

Gwendolyn Midlo Hall
Tulane University (USA)
ghall1929@aol.com

Brooksie Harrington
University of North Carolina, Fayetteville (USA)
bharrington@uncfsu.edu

Isabel Castro Henriques
Portugal
Isabelc.henriques@mail.telepac.pt

Gad J. Heuman
Warwick University (UK)
g.j.heuman@warwick.ac.uk

Linda M. Heywood
Boston University (USA)
beepsie@worldnet.att.net

John Hunwick
Northwestern University (USA)
j-hunwick@northwestern.edu

Colleen E. Kriger
University of North Carolina at Greensboro (USA)
c_kriger@uncg.edu

Jane Landers
Vanderbilt University (USA)
jane.landers@vanderbilt.edu

Robin Law
University of Stirling (UK)
r.c.c.law@stir.ac.uk

Naana Opoku-Agyemang
University of Cape Coast (Ghana)
diaspora@africaonline.com.gh

João José Reis
Universidade Federal da Bahia (Brazil)
jjreis@ufba.br

David Richardson
University of Hull (UK)
p.d.richardson@hull.ac.uk

Mohammed Bashir Salau
University of Mississippi (USA)
bashir@olemiss.edu

Livio Sansone
Universidade Federal da Bahia (Brazil)
sansone@ufba.br

Viktoria Schmidt-Linsenhoff
Universität Trier (Germany)
linsenho@uni-trier.de

Verene Shepherd
University of the West Indies (Jamaica)
verenalber@yahoo.com

Mariza de Carvalho Soares
Universidade Federal Fluminense (Brazil)
marizacsoares@ig.com.br

Elisée Soumonni
Université Nationale du Bénin (Bénin)
soumonni@hotmail.com

Rosa Cruz e Silva
Arquivo Histórico Nacional (Angola)
rocs@ebonet.net

Donald Simpson
The Innovation Expedition (Canada)
dsimpson@innovationexpedition.com

John K. Thornton
Boston University (USA)
jkthorn@bu.edu

Maureen Warner-Lewis
University of the West Indies (Jamaica)
rlewis@cwjamaica.com